Sonnet 105

SONNET 105 — an interpretation of its spoken delivery:

Key

* * = spoken slower

( ) = spoken faster

… = pause

CAPS = accentuated and louder

let not my LOVE be call’d…idolatry…

nor my BELOVED…as an idol show…

(since all alike) my songs and praises be…

TO one…OF one…still such…and ever so…

KIND is my love today…TOMORROW…kind…

still constant (in a wondrous excellence)…

(therefore my verse)…to CONSTANCY…confined…

ONE thing expressing…leaves OUT difference…

fair kind and TRUE…is all my argument…

fair kind and true…varying to other words…

and in *this change*… is my invention spent…

*three themes in one…which WONDEROUS SCOPE affords*…

fair kind and true have often lived alone…

which three…till now…NEVER…*kept seat in one*

Leave a Reply

